Just another WordPress.com weblog

Some (almost) finished units and a game!

This definately isn’t an example of speed painting. . . 🙂 Anyway, I’ve been trying to fit in a couple hours of painting every evening in order to have this army finished in time for my tournament in a couple of weeks. I’m doing a step on a unit and then moving onto another unit while that step dries. That leaves me with a lot of half-finished units, but I am making progress. Anyway, I have the Bloodletters, ‘ettes, and Flesh Hounds pretty much except for the basing, which I’ll finish last.


I also managed to get a game in today against a friend of mine who is a very good tournament player and his Skaven army. My list based around blocks of troops with 3 Heralds and support. I had him on the ropes, but the game came down to one turn where I had his large unit of Storm Vermin in combat with my Slaanesh BSB’s unit and 2 Fiends in the rear. I managed to do a total of 1 wound and he rolled like a champ doing enough wounds back to cause the combat to be a tie! Then he needed to roll a 4 or less on a fear test (thanks to my -2 Ld banner) to get another unit into my Daemonette’s flank, and rolled a 3. That was game. At the end all that was left on the board were his two Storm Vermin units with a BSB and a unit of Slaves, and then I had 2 Flesh Hounds, 6 Flamers, and half a unit of Horrors. All said and done, it was a great game, and I was very happy with my army list. The previous mentioned combat and a couple other turns of dismal dice rolling killed me though. I’ll get him next time! 🙂 Sorry for the duplicate pics btw, but I can’t get them to go where I want, and now they are multiplying. I give up! Just deal with it. 🙂

Doug

3 responses

  1. so the skaven build was pretty competitive? I’d be interested to know what he fielded…

    March 8, 2010 at 10:43 am

  2. Oh yeah, Skaven are very competative with their new book. The guy I played against actually took 2nd Overall at a large GT in WA state with his army about 6 weeks ago. He has two lists actually. 4-5 units of 25 slaves, a unit or two of storm vermin, a unit or two of normal skaven, abomination, plague censor bearers (those hurt), a BSB, a combat character, and then he runs either a Grey Seer with doom bell and a Doom Wheel, or he switches them for a Vermin Lord and warp cannon. He throws the slaves in front for you to deal with while he sets his good stuff up for crucial charges. The tough thing about playing against this list is trying to kill enough of the cheap stuff that you have time to get to the real meat of the army and earn some points.

    March 10, 2010 at 1:27 am

  3. I don’t have near that many slaves…. or do I? I run night goblins from BFSP as slaves (I paint them up as hobgoblins); I never took the time to count them to see how many I could field at once…

    March 10, 2010 at 10:05 am

Leave a Reply

